Goal Completed

13 04 2010

034. Don’t go into work on a weekend for two months [more info]

Well there you go, I was reading through my goals list this morning and realised I finished one two weeks ago.

This goal I am particularly proud of, as it relates to realigning the work/home balance that had sadly gone astray last year. My goal was to get through eight weeks (or two months) without going into work on a weekend. This might not seem like a big deal, but when I lived in my old house it was easy to drive the seven minutes it took to get to the Kindergarten I work at and tidy up from Friday afternoon, set tables up or do my planning. Instead I’ve been working harder to get my work done on work time as opposed to in my own time.

It’s not to say that I’m still not working a bit at home on a Sunday afternoon (let’s face it, most teachers in the early childhood field are guilty of out-of-hours work), but the fact it isn’t done at work is a start.

Woohoo! Five goals down, many more in progress! 😀

Actions

Information

8 responses

13 04 2010
Anny

Congratulations! This is a big accomplishment. I fully empathize, as a teacher. Most teachers I know do a substantial amount of work at home, whether it be planning or marking, especially around report card time.

13 04 2010
Rebecca W

Thank you!! I’m glad that someone appreciates what completing a goal like this means! Now to see if more of us would stop taking our work home… 😉

15 04 2010
Jafael

Congrats on another one down! Balancing work and home is one of the toughest things to do, and this was a great challenge for that!

15 04 2010
Rebecca W

Definitely a challenge, but it got easier as staying away on weekends became a bit of a habit. Hopefully I can keep it up now!

4 05 2010
choctrapeze

I can’t physically go into work on a weekend as the campus is closed, but my goal (if I had’ve made one like this) would read: “Don’t bring work home for x weekends in a row.” So far, so good fora couple of weekends!

Congrats on taking the weekend for YOURSELF!

4 05 2010
Rebecca W

Thank you! 😀 *takes a bow*

Now can you follow through on your idea?

4 05 2010
Cindy

Hi Bec,

Yep, I have done already for a couple of weekends. This weekend, though, I did bring work home but got sick and haven’t touched it. And I’m not even worried about it. At this rate, I’m not even sure whether I’ll make it to work this week. I’m in no rush. :o/

5 05 2010
Rebecca W

Oooh, I’d like to say the same about being at work this week (minus illness though!!). Continue to take it easy, stick to your goals! 😀

Leave a Reply

