Cooking with Persimmons

18 04 2010

012. Cook with five unfamiliar fruits & vegetables (1/5) [more info]

cooking with persimmons

During the week I picked up four persimmons at the greengrocer. They were very reasonably priced and in-season for Autumn here in Australia. I’d never cooked with a persimmon before, nor did I know what one tasted like. I now know that they look a lot like tomatoes and have a very mild flavour – not very sweet at all for a fruit. 

Getting home, I looked online and discovered a recipe for biscuits (what we call cookies) in my country which turned out to be delicious! They lasted two days before getting soft (ie, because they contain fruit pulp rather than chunks), and still taste good four days later. 🙂

Read below for the recipe I used.

 

 

 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup white sugar (I used raw sugar)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups self-raising flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup persimmon pulp
  • Directions

    1. Preheat oven to 350F (175C).
    2. Cream together the butter and sugar. Add egg and vanilla; mix well.
    3. Sift together the flour, baking soda, 1/4 teaspoon salt, cloves, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Stir flour mixture into creamed sugar mixture.
    4. Stir in the raisins, chopped nuts, 1/4 teaspoon salt and persimmon pulp; mix well.
    5. Drop by the teaspoonful on greased baking tray. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes. Transfer to wire racks to cool.

    (original reference here)

    Actions

    Information

    3 responses

    4 05 2010
    choctrapeze

    I’ve only had persimmons a couple of times, a long time ago, but I thought they had tiny seeds in each kernel? I could be wrong… After all, I was probably seven years old when I last tried them. Heh. I would never have thought to put persimmons in biscuits!

    4 05 2010
    choctrapeze

    Wait, waitwaitwaitwait… I was thinking pomegranates. I’ve never tried persimmons although we used to sell them ages ago as well. Pomegranates have kernels though. Heh.

    4 05 2010
    Rebecca W

    To be honest they didn’t taste of very much, but when baked ended up with an apricot-like consistency. I was hoping for more (perhaps the ones I got weren’t ripe enough?)

    Leave a Reply

