Gift for a Special Person

18 09 2010

086. Send someone a care package [more info]

During the week, a dear online friend told us the sad news that her sister’s home had burnt to the ground as the result of an electrical fire, taking all of their earthly possessions with it. Adding further sadness is that she and her husband have a four year-old daughter who would be understandably confused and scared right now.

Immediately I was drawn to what had happened and put together a package for the couple’s daughter – she is very much a girly girl who loves to read. I gave her a few books from my Kindergarten resource collection, as well as some colouring books, textas (markers) and jewellery box that was mine and filled it with suitably pink and sparkly accessories, before mailing it off to my friend for her to pass on.

Since it’s important to restore normality and routine to a child’s life as quickly as possible (and with clothing, food etc being covered by others), and it is now the school holidays – so whatever Kindergarten program she was attending will be closed for two weeks – I wanted to give her some things to do. I just wish I could have done more!

For a special little girl.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 09 2010
Jake

That is so thoughtful and caring of you! I am sure she will be thrilled to receive the gift.

πŸ™‚

19 09 2010
Leisa

Awww Bec. I was so touched to see this. Taylah will LOVE it! xxx

20 09 2010
Rebecca

*smiles* This was me trying to get up to date in my blog, but didn’t realise you’d see it already! πŸ˜‰

Excuse the big box it all comes in, it was difficult to find something to fit the height of the jewellery box~!

Leave a Reply

