My Recent Reading List

2 12 2010

048. Read 50 books (9/50) [more info]
049. Read 10 books that aren’t from the sci-fi or fantasy genres (3/10) [more info]

November is usually a pretty busy time for me (work tends to consume my life) and this year has been no exception. However, I can now see the light at the end of the tunnel and December means it’s time to wind down for the year.

When I get the time to unwind lately, I’ve been reading and cooking (see previous entry for some of my food endeavours). Here are the books I have finished reading recently (keep in mind that I like to savour books instead of rushing through them as fast as I can).

7. The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy:  A Trilogy in Four Parts – Douglas Adams (finished 04/10/10)
The ‘Hitchhiker’ series has been on my to-read list for a couple of years now, and it wasn’t until recently that I actually got around to reading it. Theoretically I could have counted each of the four stories as a book, but since they were in a single volume the rules I set for the challenge applied – it was one book. Adams’ style is eccentric, peculiar and downright silly most of the time… but in a way that makes for light reading, laughable storyliens and compels you to want to read on. Admittedly, by halfway through the fourth book I’d nearly had enough, but kept going to see the characters reach their ultimate end-games. Good, fun reading. 🙂

8. The Evolutionary Void – Peter F. Hamilton (finished 14/11/10)
This book is the final in the ‘Void’ trilogy, and I had been waiting two years since reading its predecessor. It is a combination of space-opera and fantasy at times, and two storylines have been interweaved to leave the reader hanging for more of one part when another begins. If you like physics, mathematics, spaceships and the odd sarcastic joke, then this is the series for you. If anything, the ending let me down a little bit (a touch too saccharine), but overall the series has been among the best I have read in recent years.

9. The Nanny Returns – Emma McLaughlin & Nicole Kraus (finished 30/11/10)
After reading a truckload of science-fiction back to back, it was time to intersperse soemthing a little different – introducing one of my first forays into chic-lit (which I never thought I’d do!). While I haven’t read the original The Nanny Diaries, I’ve seen the film a couple of times and when seeing the sequel book in the library I thought I’d pick it up. What I thought was light reading turned into quite heavy reading, as the dramas and he-said, she-said conversations unravelled. Kind of like being in the workplace amongst gossiping women, actually! Is this what most of the chic-lit genre is about? If so, then I’ll probably stick away from it in future.

Next up on the reading list? Zombies, of course (to counteract the girliness in the last book).

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 12 2010
Colby

Depends on the author and the book itself, some chic-lit are like what you’ve said above. But not all are the same. Have you read Eat Pray Love?

4 12 2010
Rebecca W

Colby, I can’t quite decide whether I want/don’t want to read that one judging on the synopsis (I’ve heard both good and not-so-good). Would you recommend it?

Leave a Reply

