The Story of Bananas

2 05 2012

010. Eat a banana [more info]

Image

Okay, so when I set myself the challenge of eating a banana back in 2010 it didn’t seem like too much of a big deal. I’ve never enjoyed the taste nor texture of a fresh banana, yet will eat them cooked or baked within other foods (I’ve even been known to down a banana fritter on a drunken night out!). So no big deal, right?

Wrong!

This was one of the more difficult challenges and one over eighteen months in the making. As much as I tried to eat a mouthful here and there (even while pregnant), they just weren’t palatable despite knowing how good they were for my body. I wanted to model healthy eating to my son Rowan, and showing him how to eat banana was no exception. So I faked it for a while, here and there, making sounds of enjoyment even though they were anything but. And then came May 2012. I was struck down with food poisoning and was quite ill for a few days and, when my body was ready to start eating solid food again, the only food that didn’t make me feel nauseous at the thought of consuming it was a banana!

So what did I do? The only thing I could do… I listened to my body and ate that banana. Every. last. bite (see above). And do you know what? It was tasty.

Since that day, I’ve probably eaten at least two bananas per week. It was odd in the way that it all came about, but I can consider this goal done. 😉

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

