Non Sci-Fi Reads

6 07 2012

049. Read 10 books that aren’t from the sci-fi or fantasy genres (10/10) [more info]

Finishing up on my current read, Organic Crops in Pots (by Deborah Schneebell-Morrell) marks the completion of ten books read since 2010 that aren’t science-fiction or fantasy related.

Sure, it doesn’t sound like much but considering I’ve only read 30 books in that time, 10 is quite a significant chunk of that! I don’t normally read much out of my favourite genres so this was a stretch in parts. Here is my list

02. Inconceivable – Ben Elton (finished 6/05/10)
06. An Inconceiveable Notion: Stories of Infertility & Childlessness – Justine Davies (finished 15/08/10)
09. The Nanny Returns – Emma McLaughlin & Nicole Kraus (finished 30/11/10)
14. Hypnobirthing; The Mongan Method (finished 06/04/11)
16. Breastfeeding – Sheila Kitzinger (finished 15/04/11)
19. 1001 Video Games You Must Play Before You Die
24. Baby-Led Weaning – Gill Rapley & Tracey Murkett (finished 04/10/11)
25. The Wonder Weeks – Hetty van de Rijt & Frans Plooij (finished 13/09/11)
29. Diary of a First-Time Mum – Nicole Hall (finished 24/03/12)

30. Organic Crops in Pots – Deborah Schneebell-Morrell (finished 06/07/2012)

I discovered that I don’t like ‘chick lit’ (ie, fluff reading for women), but parenting books are okay. I discovered a couple of new authors I’d potentially read again, but on the whole realised why I prefer sci-fi novels… for the escapism!

Another goal ticked off the list!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

