29 09 2012

048. Read 50 books (33/50) [more info]

So I got one more book finished before my project’s end last night…

Fitting that it was the last in a trilogy (Blackout, by Mira Grant), so a suitable end to the day. I really enjoyed this series – I read the first book while pregnant with our son Rowan, the second when he was only a couple of months old (snoozing in my arms!) and the third when he was a toddler. Kind of bittersweet that it’s over now, but I don’t think there’s anywhere the characters could really go from there so it was a fitting end. 🙂

In regards to reading, I didn’t get to my goal of completing 50 books in 2.5 years. It seemed so do-able at the time, but then again my time was my own back then – no child to take care of and my work commitments weren’t too large. Pregnancy and birth changed all of this, and there were times I found myself reading a lot and other times I went months without barely reading much at all. I was talking to someone about this recently, that I could have made this goal “easier” by choosing to read shorter books… but I did not want to compromise on books I wanted to read (or re-read) simply because they seemed too long and therefore not going to get finished in time – ie, Coalescent by Stephen Baxter, which I’m re-reading at the moment but didn’t get finished before my project’s end. I love that series, and I’m looking forward to continue digesting it over the coming months.

With my next project (oh yes, I’m guessing that there will be one starting in the next year),  I will lower my expectations of time spent being able to read a little more and drop that total number from 50 to something like 30, for example. More do-able, I think.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

