Project’s End: Celebrating Day 1001!

30 09 2012

101. Write a Mission 101 list and publish it to my blog 
(a) Write a blog entry on my progress at least once per month (33/33)
(b) Reassess every six months for outdated/irrelevant goals
(c) Complete at least 75% of the goals on my list by September 29th, 2012
(d) Celebrate Day 1001!

I did it!! *insert much farfare and rejoicing*

Yesterday marked Day 1001 of my Mission101, and the end of my project.

2.5 years ago, I opened this blog with the following statement:

Starting a new blog brings with it the kind of excitement and anticipation that opening a new book evokes… what will its pages hold, and how will the narrative journey unfold?

I plan on using these pages to list, record and document my Mission 101 – that is to celebrate small achievements by achieving 101 goals in 1001 days (or roughly, two and-a-half years from now). As I sometimes tend to spend more time focusing on the negative than positive energies in my life, this project will be a way of trying to restore the balance. It is said that it takes three weeks to form anything into a habit – hopefully within three years I can turn positivity into a lifelong one.

Though I didn’t specify it here at the time, another of my reasons for starting this project was focusing on little things in light of receiving news about my fertility (and the notion of perhaps not being able to have a child of our own). I didn’t want to overshadow this blog with woe-is-me musings, nor goal-setting about pregnancy, birth and parenting. I wanted to celebrate the small things in life, and that I have! Along the way here are some of the things I achieved:

  • Upgraded to my dream camera (Nikon D700)
  • Tried out 50 new recipes
  • Got a professional mssage
  • Completed a blog for the families of children I teach, spanning an entire school year
  • Watched a sunset from the highest naturally-formed point in Melbourne
  • Made 5 homemade birthday cards and a set of Christmas cards
  • Learnt to play a strategy boardgame
  • Planted a herb garden
  • Sent someone a care package; and
  • Left a permanent mark somewhere in my housing estate.

What a fun time this has been, and even more amazing to look back and see how much I have squeezed into the past 2.5 years. I’m currently sitting at 57/101 goals completed, but looking through my list I can see a few goals left undocumented… so I can imagine the final tally will be 60+ (short of my original goal of 75+, but not far short).

I will finish up writing about these goals and my final summaries on completed/uncompleted goals in the coming weeks, then I can officially call my Mission 101 project complete. 🙂

Thank you to everyone who has read, commented and cheered me on since 2010!

Rebecca


Actions

Information

Leave a comment